Pre-Discharge Locations and Contacts

As you get ready to separate or retire from the military, make sure you are taking the necessary steps to prepare for your future. If you’re within 180 days of discharge, the VFW can help.

The VFW’s Pre-Discharge program has offices located on or near major military installations across the country to help you obtain your VA benefits as you transition from the military. Our Pre-Discharge representatives are ready to guide you through the claims process and answer any questions you may have concerning VA benefits.

  • California

    Camp Pendleton, CA 
    Donald Grinter, National Pre-Discharge Claims Representative
    Marine & Family Services
    Bldg. 13150 - VA, Room 203
    Camp Pendleton, CA  92055 - 5020 

    Phone: 619.772.6235
    Email: dgrinter@vfw.org


    San Diego, CA

    Mark Barrett, National Pre-Discharge Claims Representative

    Naval Base San Diego

    3115 Dolphin Alley

    Bldg. 270, Room 213

    San Diego, CA  92136

     

    Phone: 619.797.7809

    Email: mark.barrett@va.gov

     

  • Colorado

    Fort Carson, CO
    Denise Southall, National Pre-Discharge Claims Representative
    1626 O’Connell Blvd, Bldg. 813, 3rd Floor
    Fort Carson, CO  80913

    Phone: 719.650.4821

    Email: dsouthall@vfw.org
    Email: elondious.rose@va.gov

     

     

  • Georgia

    Fort Stewart, GA
    Michael Churchill, National Pre-Discharge Claims Representative
    1145 Niles Avenue
    Bldg. 4973, Rm. 120
    Ft. Stewart, GA  31314

    Phone: 912.435.9805

    Cell Phone: 912.492.8050

    Email: mchurchill@vfw.org

  • Kansas

    Fort Riley, KS
    Brian Coleman, National Pre-Discharge Claims Representative
    Building #212 Custer Avenue
    Room 204
    Ft. Riley, KS  66442

    Phone: 785.239.3901

    Cell Phone: 785.249.1742

    Email: bcoleman@vfw.org

  • Kentucky

    Fort Campbell, KY
    John Biemesderfer, National Pre-Discharge Claims Representative
    5668 Wickham Avenue
    Fort Campbell, KY  42223

    Phone: 931.431.3155

    Email: john.biemesderfer@va.gov

  • Maryland

    Joint Base Andrews

    Kevin Buckner, National Pre-Discharge Claims Consultant

    1604 California Avenue

    Joint Base Andrews, MD 20762

     

    Phone: 202.400.0403

    Email: kbuckner@vfw.org

     

     

    Anacostia/Bolling

    Kevin Buckner, National Pre-Discharge Claims Representative

    118 Brookley Ave., Bldg. 13

    JB Anacostia-Bolling

    Washington, DC  20032

     

    Phone: 202.400.0403
    Email: kbuckner@vfw.org

     

     

    Walter Reed National Military Medical Center

    Joe Grassi, National Pre-Discharge Claims Representative

    Military and Family Support Center

    9045 Beale Rd

    Bldg. 11, Room 200

    Bethesda, MD 20889

     

    Cell Phone: 202.256.4272

    Email: jgrassi@vfw.org

  • Nevada

    Nellis Air Force Base, NV
    Rick Boring, National Pre-Discharge Claims Representative
    4775 England Ave
    Bldg. 20, Room 312
    (Pass & ID Bldg)
    Nellis AFB, NV 89191

    Phone: 702.643.1161

    Email: rick.boring@va.gov

  • New York

    Fort Drum, NY
    Nancy Ortiz, National Pre-Discharge Claims Representative
    10720 Mount Belvedere Blvd
    Clark Hall, Room B2-18
    Fort Drum, NY  13602

    Phone: 315.772.4337
    Cell Phone: 315.399.8871
    Email: nortiz@vfw.org

  • North Carolina

    Camp Lejeune, NC
    Cindy Noel, National Pres-Discharge Claims Representative
    Building 501, “N” Street
    Camp Lejeune, NC  28547

    Phone: 910.451.7658

    Cell Phone: 910.465.1314

    Email: cindy.noel@va.gov



    Fort Bragg, NC 
    Rick Jones, National Pre-Discharge Claims Representative
    Bldg. 4-2843
    Normandy Drive
    Ft. Bragg, NC  78307

    Phone: 910.396.3737
    Email: richard.jones17@va.gov 

     

    Winston Salem, NC

    Charles Ryder, National Pre-Discharge Rating Representative
    Steven Lindsey, National Pre-Discharge Rating Consultant
    Dale Phillips, National Pre-Discharge Rating Consultant
    100 North Main Street, Suite 1700
    Winston-Salem, NC  27101

     

    Phone: 336.251.0390 (Charles)
    Phone: 336.251.6900 (Steven)
    Phone: 336.251.6756 (Dale)

    Email: charles.ryder@va.gov
    Email: steven.lindsey@va.gov
    Email: dale.phillips318@va.gov

  • Puerto Rico

    Guaynabo, Puerto Rico

    Tara Fajardo Arteaga, Service Officer
    VA Regional Office
    San Juan VA Regional Office
    (355) #50 Carr 165
    San Juan, PR  00968

    Phone: 787.772.7328

    Cell Phone: 787.243.0759

    Email: tarteaga@vfw.org

  • Texas

    Fort Bliss, TX
    Michael McPherson, National Pre-Discharge Claims Representative
    Building 503 Pershing Road Rm 320-4
    Fort Bliss, TX 79916

    Cell Phone: 915.205.8082
    Email: mmcpherson@vfw.org

     

     

    Fort Hood, TX
    T
    om Parker, National Pre-Discharge Claims Representative
    Shoemaker Center
    Room D417B
    36000 Darnell Loop
    Ft. Hood, TX  76544

    Phone: 254.288.2181

    Cell Phone: 254.319.4901
    Email: thomas.parker1@va.gov

  • Utah

    Salt Lake City, UT

    Richard L. Lawrence, National Pre-Discharge Rating Consultant

    Shane Hancock, National Pre-Discharge Rating Consultant 

    550 Foothill Drive, Suite 203

    Salt Lake City, UT  84158-1900

     

    Phone: 801.326.2338 (Richard)

    Phone: 385.890.9577 (Shane)

    Email: richard.lawrence@va.gov

    Email: shancock@vfw.org

     

     

     

  • Virginia

    Fort Belvoir
    Chris Guthrie, Associate Director
    9625 Belvoir Road
    Barden Education Center
    Bldg. 1017
    Fort Belvoir, VA 22060

    Phone: 202.480.0662

    Email: cguthrie@vfw.org

     

    Joint Base Myer-Henderson Hall
    Chris Guthrie, Associate Director, Field Operations
    232 McNair Rd, (SFL-TAP Bldg. 404)
    Joint Base Myer, VA  22211

    Cell Phone: 202.480.0077
    Email: cguthrie@vfw.org


    Naval Station Norfolk 

    Patrick Bedford, National Pre-Discharge Claims Representative

    Naval Station Norfolk

    1683 Gilbert Street

    Bldg. J-50, Third Floor, Room 315

    Norfolk, VA  23531

     

    Phone: 757.319.1940

    Email: pbedford@vfw.org

     

     

    Marine Corps Base Quantico
    Joe Grassi, National Pre-Discharge Claims Representative

    Wounded Warrior Regiment

    1998 Hill Ave

    Quantico, VA 22314

     

    Cell Phone: 202.256.4272

    Email: jgrassi@vfw.org

  • Washington

    Joint Base Lewis-McChord
    Antwaine Dowdy, National Pre-Discharge Claims Representative
    Waller Hall – VFW
    2140 Building – Rm. 700
    JB Lewis - McChord, WA 98433

    Phone: 253.966.1279

    Email: adowdy@vfw.org

     

t

o

p