2018 VFW Legislative Conference

2018 Legislative Conference 

This year's 2018 Legislative Conference was held in Washington, D.C., March 4-7, 2018.

Since 1949, the VFW's annual Legislative Conference has provided an opportunity for VFW leaders from each state to personally lobby their respective lawmakers and watch as the VFW's current Commander-in-Chief testifies on Capitol Hill before the House and Senate Veterans' Affairs Committees on behalf of veterans.

This year, Rep. Rodney P. Frelinghuysen (R-N.J.) received the VFW Congressional Award in recognition of his unwavering support of veterans, service members and their families, as well as for strengthening the Defense Department, boosting national intelligence capabilities, and for providing an enhanced and more accountable Department of Veterans Affairs.

The Voice of Democracy first-place winner, Robyn Anzulis, sponsored by VFW Post 10076 and its Auxiliary in Mt. Airy, Md., was presented with the T.C. Selman Memorial Scholarship award in the amount of $30,000. The Patriot’s Pen first-place winner, Karolina Mazur, sponsored by VFW Post 521 and its Auxiliary in Owings Mills, Md., received that contest’s top prize of a $5,000 award.

Look for #VFWDC2018 on FacebookTwitter and Instagram.